The Evolution of the Booty Call

“It’s a quarter after one,

I’m all alone and I need you now.

And I said I wouldn’t call,

But I’m a little drunk and I need you now.

And I don’t know how I can do without,

I just need you now.”

Lady Antebellum

We have all either been the victim or perpetrator of that late night phone call or text, full of desperation and desire—the booty call.  While there once was a time where sex really did happen strictly after marriage and the topic of sexuality was taboo, times have changed and phone calls with provocative solicitations are not only accepted, they are expected.  However, I would guess that late night drunk-dialing did not really become so prevalent until the rise in popularity of the cell phone.  Since I was a bit too young during the beeper/pager phase, I am merely guessing that people were paging their friends with benefits and significant others for late-night lovin’ even back then.  Yet, once cell phones became as ubiquitous as pens and the payphone went out like the dinosaurs, drunken hook-up attempts sky rocketed.  In more recent years, such pleading has required even less courage thanks to texting becoming so commonplace.  Now just a few taps of your thumb and a sex request is on its way and cannot be taken back.

Someone recently told me that the technology currently in our cell phones is the same technology NASA used to land the first man on the moon.  All this power at our fingertips and we still resort to the most primordial instincts and use this magnificent tool to get laid.  Of course I am not saying there is anything wrong with it and it’s usually really funny, unless you are the one waking up to a phone full of texts to your ex-boyfriend and pangs of regret.  While this technology is amazing and has changed the course of history, it also allows for a lot more mishaps and awkward situations.  In the olden days you had to go home to make a call and ask for an operator to connect you to someone.  Eventually we gained the ability to dial a person directly on our rotary phones.  Then we had clunky cordless units.  Now, fifteen years later, we have phones that double as miniature computers in our pockets and some of us carry more than one around.  Times have changed and not entirely for the better.

Last week I was home on my computer browsing through Facebook after a long day at work.  An old friend who I hadn’t talked to in months popped up in a chat box wondering what I was up to.  This male friend of mine actually dated one of my best friends for about six months and it did not end well.  She had texted me that night to inform me that said ex had called her at 8:30pm looking to hook up.  It was now 10:30pm and he had reached a whole other level of shitfaced and was reaching out to me.  He and I were not close and actually had only hung out a handful of times.  This guy also knows I am good friends with his ex so I can only imagine the level of intoxication he had to be at to contact me.  I engaged him in conversation just for my own amusement and came to find out that he was at a bar chatting me while boozing and was hoping I would come out and meet up with him (i.e. let him get it in).  I told him I was going to bed and shooed him away but I was a bit taken aback.  This was a new experience for me—not the booty call itself obviously but the usage of Facebook chat as the contact medium for this request.  What has happened to society that sexual propositioning now takes place at 10:30pm on a Tuesday via a social networking site’s chat??

Honestly, I am still a bit blown away by the entire experience.  I have drunk dialed.  I have drunk texted.  I have confiscated friends’ phones to save them of the humiliation of both forms of booty calls but I have never thought to use Facebook chat on my phone to plot a hook up with an acquaintance.  I received an apology chat message the following day—rightfully so—and honestly just found the whole thing hilarious.  However, this still got me thinking about the evolution of the booty call being synonymous with the evolution of dating.  There used to be so much courting and work involved and in Victorian times ladies even had to have chaperons for dates.  Now, two people meet at a bar and hook up potentially without even knowing each others names and this doesn’t phase anyone in the slightest.  While I see consent as the defining factor of whether or not an action is morally reprehensible, I still cannot help but feel like this is a bit sad.  Gone are the days of flowers and chivalry.  Gone are the days when a guy calls you up for a date.  Now you get a few texts with some emoticons and a guy expect you to spread your legs.  I know that I may be contradicting my other posts and my usually free-spirited, liberal self but I am becoming a bit afraid to see how much worse and more socially removed things will become.  How much more of our dating lives will we move into the electronic realm before the only times we see our significant others is for sex?  I may be all for sexual liberation and feminism, but I’m not for throwing human interaction and the exciting parts of dating out the window.  And honestly, if anyone thinks I’m going to drop what I’m doing to come over to a bar on a Tuesday night because he asked me on Facebook chat with his drunken fat fingers he is either an idiot or I’m just insulted that anyone could think that would actually work on me.  I hope that the next generation opts for a backlash of all this technology based communication but considering that 7 years olds now have cell phones and twitter accounts, I won’t be holding my breath.

2 thoughts on “The Evolution of the Booty Call

  1. This post came just at the right time!!

    I stopped talking to this guy quite some time ago and am still shocked at the number of times he contacts me in a month looking to get some. Hilarious, really. I could always tell him to stop texting me with these silly requests, but the truth is that I find them quite amusing. The fact that this guy can continue to text me after so many months of me providing excuse after excuse explaining why I can’t (don’t want to) see him is actually funny to me. I’ve even ignored many of the texts and still he tries – drunk or sober; late or early – he tries at least 3 times a month. I even woke up one morning with a nice novella-worth of steamy text messages. Maybe he was writing a draft of his very own Penthouse Letter or something??

    The best is when these guys send pictures of their flacid man parts. Is that supposed to make me hop out of bed and drive to another town for what is usually a waste of 30 minutes? I think not…

    • Omg I agree! I still have a guy I dated 3 years ago doing it! He fb chats, texts, or calls and same thing night or day, drunk or sober. Says he wants to hang out and catch up…yeah right.

      Re the flacid parts…seriously, they are tiny flacid. Amusing but not arousing haha. They should start themselves off and ask us to finish or something, but even then, a drunk text will never get me to leave where I am and drive to sex. If they want it so bad they should come to us, and with flowers or something or we should get breakfast haha.

Leave a Reply

